Thanks 2020.

Instead of talking about how much this year sucked, why don’t we give this year some credit too. 2020 gave my husband, daughter, & I time we may never had gotten with the hustle and bustle of our every day lives. Lots of family meals together, lots of playing outside and teaching Grace how to play catch, a little soccer even, riding bikes. Lots of time to reminisce with Steve with card games and listening to some of my favorite musician friends I hadn’t seen play in over 10 years at least playing live facebook sets. 2020 gave me back, and gave me things to share with my husband and daughter that I didn’t think of before we got stuck at home all together. I hate to give Covid anything but the shutdown allowed us to really know what made us fall in love Again. We’ve lost friends and battled with anxiety, depression, grievance, lack of the social contact we all so very much loved before. Lots of us blame the mental and emotional impact of Covid for really hurting our loved ones too. We all have found ourselves in some newly awakened versions of our own. 2020 sucked but I’m thankful for it too. I’ve never been much for “New Year, New Me because I admire and am proud of the new me I strive for most all the time. 2020 brought our family closer. It made it all the more precious to spend time with those we cannot see often. It made it all the more beautiful to watch G play with her cousins and aunts and uncles and friends. 2020 gave us a new look on things that were there yet took for granted. So F Covid, but thank you for revealing things we didn’t always know were there.

Author: twistedjess

Mom of a beautiful toddler, wife of a bartender, life of stay at home from server and bartender. Big jump. Still taking it in. I love to write and ask crazy questions!

Leave a comment